



NEWS RELEASE

Northwest Territories Celebrates 25 Years of Diamond Industry Success!

(Yellowknife, NT – November 23, 2016) Twenty-five years of diamond exploration and mining success in the Northwest Territories (NWT) was celebrated at a sold out NWT Diamond Gala dinner held in Yellowknife on November 17th. Photographs from the celebration are attached.

Recognition was given in three areas: to those individuals involved in the discovery and early development of the diamond deposits that became the mines; to the companies that constructed and operate the mines; and to the Aboriginal governments that supported the mines' development and have established new levels of Aboriginal participation in mining.

The Honourable Robert R. McLeod, Premier of the NWT recognized and thanked the individuals who are considered key to the discovery and early development of the diamond deposits. He also recognized the important contributions of the Aboriginal governments and groups that have participated in the development of the mines. The Honourable Alfred Moses, NWT Minister of Education, Culture and Employment, recognized the significant benefits the four NWT diamond mines have provided to the North (see November 15, 2016 Chamber news release).

Discoverers Recognized

Charles Fipke Robert Gannicott Harry Dobson Stewart Blusson Chris Jennings John Dupuis

James Eccott Ned Goodman Grenville Thomas Randy Turner

Mines Recognized

Ekati Diamond Mine (Dominion Diamond Corporation)
Diavik Diamond Mine (Rio Tinto and Dominion Diamond Corporation)
Snap Lake Diamond Mine (the De Beers Group of Companies)
Gahcho Kué Diamond Mine (the De Beers Group of Companies and Mountain Province Diamonds)

Aboriginal Governments / Nations Recognized

Tlicho Government

Yellowknives Dene First Nation

Lutsel K'e and Kache Dene First Nation

Deninu Kué First Nation

North Slave Métis Alliance

Kitikmeot Inuit Association

Thank you to the sponsors of the event, the NWT Government, Dominion Diamond Corporation, Diavik Diamond Mines Inc., De Beers Group of Companies, Kellett Communications, Aboriginal Business Quarterly, Olivut Resources, the Nuna Group of Companies, Matco Moving Solutions, Manitoulin Transport, and Crossworks Manufacturing. For more information on the NWT and Nunavut mineral industries, visit www.miningnorth.com or contact Tom Hoefer, Executive Director.

103, 5102 – 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, NT Canada X1A 3S8 Phone: (867) 873-5281 Fax: (780) 669-5681 Email: executivedirector@miningnorth.com Website: www.miningnorth.com

Diamond Gala Photographs



Diamond Discovery recipients, from left are: Gren Thomas, Harry Dobson, Chuck Fipke, Jim Pounds (for Bob Gannicott, deceased), and John MacDonald (for Randy Turner). Not able to attend were: Stewart Blusson, James Eccott, Chris Jennings, Ned Goodman, and John Dupuis.



NWT Minister Alfred Moses recognized NWT diamond mines. From left are: Jon Carlson (Dominion Diamond, Ekati), Denton Henkelman (Rio Tinto / Dominion Diamond, Diavik), Erik Madsen (De Beers, Snap Lake), Minister Moses, Allan Rodel (De Beers, Gahcho Kué) and Patrick Evans (Mountain Province, Gahcho Kué).

103, 5102 – 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, NT Canada X1A 3S8 Phone: (867) 873-5281 Fax: (780) 669-5681 Email: executivedirector@miningnorth.com Website: www.miningnorth.com



NWT Premier Bob McLeod, right, celebrated Aboriginal Governments' contributions to diamond mining success. From left are: Stanley Anablak (Kitikmeot Inuit Association), Darryl Bohnet (Northwest Territory Métis Nation), Don Balsillie (Deninu Kué First Nation), Felix Lockhart (Lutsel K'e and Kache Dene First Nation), Bill Enge (North Slave Métis Alliance), Chief Ernest Betsina and Chief Edward Sangris (Yellowknives Dene First Nation), Chief Alfonz Nitsiza and Chief Clifford Daniels (Tłįcho Government), and Premier McLeod.

103, 5102 – 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, NT Canada X1A 3S8 Phone: (867) 873-5281 Fax: (780) 669-5681 Email: executivedirector@miningnorth.com Website: www.miningnorth.com